Producing genius Girl Talk is dropping a new collection of tracks this Tuesday, April 8th. An addict to sampling in all its forms, Girl Talk’s new EP Broken Ankles is a collaboration with the legendary Philadelphia rapper, Freeway. Broken Ankles is a follow up to All Day, Girl Talk’s full-length album from 2010. It consists of six tracks that are each bangers in their own right, showing the skill and mastery Girl Talk has developed. The beats are perfect for Freeway to lay down high-powered, energetic and diverse flows. And like the rhymes meld seamlessly with the rhythm, all of the tracks fit together to form a whole. Girl Talk explained Broken Ankles, his desire to work with Freeway and the direction he wanted to take the EP.

“I wanted to work closer to traditional song structure compared to my last few albums, but still include some detailed sample splicing and change-ups when it felt appropriate. The overall structure is what I thought worked best with Freeway’s style. It’s always important to me to have an album that works as a whole; something that has a calculated flow to it, which is intended to be listened to front to back. I’ve been a fan of Freeway since I first heard him on ‘1-900-Hustler,’ and I just thought he was the perfect fit for what I had in mind. I wanted the album to be diverse, and I wanted someone who could keep up with quick changes mid-song. Freeway is the rare rapper who sounds natural on all types of beats, ranging from cut-up soul to menacing synth-jams. His energy is unreal, and he’s able to keep up with any production.”

Girl Talk and Freeway have also assembled a trio of guest rappers to add their own unique spins and rhymes into these six tracks. Waka Flocka Flame, Young Chris and Jadakiss all add their voices to the track list, making it even more of a special EP. Be sure not to miss this EP drop next Tuesday, you can download it for FREE via DatPiff. Also catch Girl Talk live at a festival near you over the next few months. And if you can’t wait for either of those, check out the video teaser for “Tolerated (Ft. Waka Flaka Flama)”. This video, the full track list for Broken Ankles and Girl Talk’s tour schedule can be found below.

“Broken Ankles” Tracklisting:

1. Broken Ankles Intro

2. Tolerated (ft. Waka Flocka Flame)

3. Tell Me Yeah (ft. Young Chris)

4. I Can Hear Sweat (ft. Jadakiss)

5. Suicide

 6. Lived It


Fri. April 11 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival

Fri. April 18 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival

Sun. May 4 – Tampa, FL @ Big Guava Festival

Thu. May 15 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival

Sat. May 17 – Atlanta, GA @ Centennial Olympic Park

Fri. June 20 – Dover, DE @ Firefly Music Festival